Airline & airport complaints

Manchester airport latest rip off

Tuesday, 21 April 2009 13:53

It seems that it's open season on airline passengers as Manchester airport has introduced a rip off £1 charge for plastic bags for security screening. These bags can be bought on the internet in relatively small quantities at around £11 to £12 a thousand, that's around a penny each. Not a bad profit really, buy for a penny and sell for a pound, just shows what you can do what you are responsible for enforcing petty rules and regulations and the traveling public has no choice. Better still if they complain you can make their life a misery.

This is a total rip off and amounts to nothing more than demanding money with menaces. Manchester airport management knows that passengers have to pass through security, otherwise they will not be able to travel, so they can pile on the profit with little chance of passengers complaining. If passengers do complain then the airport has the whip hand still because they can accuse passengers of being aggressive then delay them until they miss their flights.

Passengers needing to take medications etc don't have a choice but Manchester airport is ready, willing and able to impose more misery on passengers as it greedily shakes more money out of them at every possible opportunity.

If you have any choice AVOID Manchester airport, if you don't have a choice write and complain.

 

bmibaby credit card charge when booking

Monday, 20 April 2009 16:10

bmibaby.com operates their own credit card, a MasterCard that is actually operated by citi bank.

bmibaby encourages you to sign up for their credit card - I signed up for one reason and one reason only - bnibaby said that they didn't charge a credit card handling fee when booking bmibaby flight if you used the bmibaby.com credit card.

That was in late 2008. I booked my flights and saved the charge. In addition I got an email telling me that I had qualified for a 'free' flight.

Let's look at these so-called benefits in more detail.

bmibaby.com credit card handling charge

When I signed up for this credit card just a few months ago bmibaby.com didn't charge a handling fee when I booked flights and paid with their credit card. Now it looks like they have changed their minds because my booking was charged £3.50 for a one-way flight.

Reading through the blurb at bmibaby.com it looks like they are 'updated their polices' which is a polite way of saying that they have decided that we passengers are not being ripped off sufficiently because their booking conditions now say there is a £3.50 charge for each single flight, so a return gets charged £7.00.

This is a rip off. Those of us who took out the bmibaby credit card on the basis of no charges should get that deal honoured, or we should simply cut up the card and close the account. If we all do that they bmibaby will soon get the message.

bmibaby credit card 'free' flight

Well what a sucker I was in actually believing I might get a free flight!

It might be possible, but you'll have to bend over backwards and do a few more contortions, and you'll still have to pay all the taxes and charges, so what starts out looking promising starts to look more and more like a scam.

Read the terms and conditions properly and you find that 'tiny' fares are excluded - so you're unlikely to get what you want. I tried and couldn't find a single date when I could book the destination I wanted.

Take my advice, don't bother with bmibaby.com credit card, there are better deals elsewhere.

   

Can airport security staff assault passengers? - part - 4

Monday, 20 April 2009 14:46

Following a response from Heathrow Airport LHR that can only be described as inadequate the passenger wrote back asking Heathrow LHR to escalate the complaint to the next level of management.

Here is what Heathrow Airport BAA LHR had to say . . .


Heathrow Airport

Passenger Communications Floor 1, Heathrow Point West 234 Bath Road

Middlesex UB3 5AP

BAA

16 April 2009

Feedback Reference Number: [removed]

Mr [removed]

Dear [removed]

Thank you for your letter dated 12 April regarding your experience at Heathrow Airport recently. I am sorry that you don't feel we took your comments seriously enough.

I have taken a look at your original correspondence with us and can see that you felt you were given an overly thorough body search in security. I am confident that this was not intended to offend or harm you, regardless, I would like to restore your confidence in us.

Further to your our previous letter to you, I can confirm that the security regulations in place at Heathrow are administered by the Department for Transport and we are obliged to ensure the safety and security of our airport.

I am sure you can understand that in line with these regulations, our staff are required to carry out a body search at security, which may feel intrusive to our passengers. We are sensitive to this and our security staff are trained extensively to perform these body searches. If you wish, you can request to be searched in private.

Please be assured that if you feel you feel a member of our team has been rude or has physically harmed you, that our operations managers will take this very seriously. I trust that your future visits will be smooth and comfortable, however, should you have a poor experience you can ask to speak to the manager on duty.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Yours sincerely


[name removed]


Comments on this response:

The passenger asked a number of serious and testing questions, these have been totally ignored by the airport. A further letter pointing this out and asking a number of other questions is being written.

Read the letter that prompted this response

Read BAA Heathrow LHR letter that the passenger thought inadequate

Read the original complaint

   

Can airport security staff assault passengers? - part - 3

Sunday, 12 April 2009 14:46

Following a response from Heathrow Airport LHR that can only be described as innadequate the passenger wrote back asking Heathrow LHR to escalate the complaint to the next level of management.

Here is what the passenger said . . .


12 April 2009
Dear [name removed]:
Feedback reference XXXXXXX
I am in receipt of your letter dated 7 April 2009. After reading your letter a number of times I wonder whether the letter that I received was intended for a different recipient because it addresses none of the issues that I raised.

My letter was about assaults, a serious criminal offence. Your response does not address this in any way. You suggest that ‘being aware of what to expect could make your next travel experience better'.
Both my wife and I are well aware what to expect in airports, in the last 12 months we have flown in excess of 40 segments each, we see first-hand what goes on in airports. It is precisely because I know what is involved in airport security procedures that I wrote to you. I know the difference between being searched and being assaulted. Despite what management may think, security staff do abuse their power. Your comments were not helpful, they were counter-productive and patronising.

You will be aware that UK airports are liberally festooned with notices warning passengers that verbal abuse of airport staff and assaults on airport staff will not be tolerated. As a matter of equity verbal and physical assaults on passengers should not be tolerated either, and the management of the airport has a duty to ensure this.

You have not taken my complaint seriously. I request that my original letter, together with your response and a copy of this letter be escalated to the higher management of your organisation where they can be considered by someone who appreciates the gravity of their contents.

As part of the response to this letter I would like a written statement explaining exactly what your airport management define as a verbal assault and a physical assault on a member of staff so that I can use that in the future as the basis of determining whether I am assaulted and that you ensure that passengers are treated that same as you expect passengers to treat your personnel.

Yours sincerely,


[name removed]


The response from BAA London Heathrow Airport LHR is here, and suggests . . .

Heathrow Airport does not care what passengers think;

Heathrow airport does not treat passenger complains seriously;

Read BAA Heathrow LHR letter that the passenger thought inadequate

Read the original complaint

   

Can airport security staff assault passengers? - part 2

Sunday, 12 April 2009 14:34

Here is how BAA Heathrow Airport LHR responded to a passenger complaint about being assaulted by security staff . . .

BAA heathrow response to customer complaint about assault by security staff

Heathrow Airport

Passenger Communications Floor 1, Heathrow Point West 234 Bath Road

Middlesex UB3 5AP

BAA

07 April 2009
Feedback Reference Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Mr [name removed]
[address removed]

Dear Mr [name]

Thank you for your letter dated 2 April regarding your experience at Heathrow Airport last year.

The security regulations in place at Heathrow are administered by the Department for Transport. We work closely with them to ensure all their requirements are met.

In line with these regulations our staff may be required to carry out a body search at security. To ensure the safety and security of all passengers it is necessary for these searches to be thorough. I can assure you our security staff are trained extensively to perform body searches and a you can request to be searched in private if you wish.

If you need any further information on security regulations at the airport you can log onto www.heathrowairport.com. I know it doesn't help now, but being aware of what to expect could make your next travel experience better.

Thank you for taking the time to write. I hope that next time you travel through Heathrow you will have a much better experience.

Yours sincerely



[author name removed]
Passenger Communications Advisor BAA Heathrow


Read how the passenger responded and asked BAA to treat this complaint seriously . . .

Read the original complaint

   

Page 3 of 4


Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100