Airline & airport complaints

Blackpool Airport Development Fee another rip off

Tuesday, 15 February 2011 14:06

Blackpool Airport has come up with yet another charge on passengers, their so-called 'Airport Development Fee' or ADF. Followers of air travel will know that this charge is the reason Ryanair no longer flies from Blackpool.

According to the Blackpool Airport website . . .

All adult passengers (16 years and over), departing from Blackpool International will be required to purchase a £10 ADF ticket.

All child passengers (15 years and under), departing from Blackpool International will require an ADF ticket but no fee will be charged.

Blackpool International reserves the right to refuse access to its facilities to passengers not in possession of a valid ADF ticket.

This means that in addition to the usual rip-off charges that are added to your ticket price you will have to pay £10 simply to pass through the airport, and that's £10 per person. If you don't buy a £10 ticket then you will not be allowed through security, which means if you want to fly from Blackpool you will have to fork out £10 on top of all the other taxes and charges that you have already paid.

Vote with your feet - fly from somewhere else or go by coach or train, Blackpool airport management should remember that Ryanair quit Blackpool airport the day before this charge was introduced, that meant 1.3 million passengers a year lost from Blackpool together with all the money they spent on food, drinks, taxis etc and generally brought into the Blackpool economy.

 


At the time of writing (15 February 2011) the Blackpool Airport Website has not been carefully checked, as the following screenshot shows

blackpool airport development fee

it looks like the page has not even been run through a spell checker that would have found the space missing between the words passenger and facilities.

Let's hope that the staff at Blackpool are better at other things than they are at website development.

 

 

An inane question from Air Canada

Sunday, 12 September 2010 16:15

Air Canada takes the biscuit with their inane on-line checking question  by asking . . .

'Do you have anything in your hand baggage which is sharp or pointed, or any item that could be adapted to cause an injury to another person?'

inane question from Air Canada

How could anyone ever answer NO to that? My pen could be used to write on someone which is an injury, I could stand on someone's foot and cause them an injury. Air Canada gets the prize for most ridiculous question to ask. They must know that no-one is ever going to say Yes, so why do they bother?

The answer is probably that if there is a problem then they can say that they asked the question.

It just shows that the lunatics are not just in contol of the UK.

   

Disabled abandoned on two occasions by Manchester airport

Sunday, 12 September 2010 09:32

Disabled person left abandoned by Manchester Airport staff on two occasions

The equality & human rights commission failed to get a response from Manchester Airport regarding this. [Manchester Airport 'loses' complaints - Editor]

I wonder if any others have had difficulties with disability assistance at Manchester Airport. We had booked assistance through our travel agent so we thought everything was in hand for our holiday.

However on the outward journey the wheelchair attendant failed to collect me and take me to the aircraft.

Our return journey was even worse they failed to provide an ambi lift when the plane landed and it took around forty minutes before we could get off the plane.

Then the wheelchair assistant who was supposed to take us through to the carousel for our luggage, got a message to collect another passenger and then abandoned me in a semi darkened room. I could not get out of the room as access was via swipe card, at this I burst in to tears.

After a while another airport worker found my wife and I and took us through for our baggage and on to our taxi.

The following day I made a complaint to Manchester airport and never got a response. After a month I contacted the equality & human rights commission and they helped me to draft a letter to send to Manchester airport but again a month on still no response.

In the end the equality & human rights commission took over for me but they too faced the same obstacles not getting responses.

The equality & human rights commission offered Manchester Airport mediation but this appears to have been declined, as they have not responded, the lady from the equality & human rights commission who took up my complaint has spoken with senior personnel at the airport who have said they will get back to her, but so often she has had to make several phone calls and leave voicemails before they have contacted her.

The end result is that to proceed any further I have had to issue a summons against Manchester Airport, otherwise I am out of time. So I have had to do this citing this as the reason.

This is a claim under Regulation 9 of The Civil Aviation (Access to Air Travel for Disabled Persons and Persons with Reduced Mobility) Regulations 2007 SI 2007/1895 in respect of a breach of Regulation (EC) 1107/2006 concerning the rights of disabled persons and persons with reduced mobility when travelling by air.

I would much rather have sat down and had mediation were everything could have been discussed, but I now have to endure a court case or Manchester Airport will have got away with treating me as a disabled person in a despicable manner.

RIH a 63year old Stroke Survivor


Editorial comment: In general airports do not treat passengers as customers. On the contrary, passengers are seen more like animals or walking wallets or purses that are to be relieved of money at every possible chance. The real customers that airports are concerned about are the proprietors of the shops and restaurants on the airport. These people pay real money whereas passengers cause problems - read some of the other stories on this site if you dispute that.

 

   

The great 'taxes and charges rip off' by airlines

Thursday, 25 February 2010 16:34

What a rip off!

Taxes and charges on flights should be the same, so why are some airlines charging much more than others?

You would expect the taxes charges to be the same when you travel between the same airports on the same day, or is that naive?

Aer Lingus and bmibaby both fly between Cork in Ireland and Manchester in the UK, so why are their taxes and charges so different?

For a one-way flight between Cork and Manchester on the same day Aer Lingus charges: fare zero, taxes and charges 19.99 euros.

aer lingus cork manchester

Same flight on the same day with bmibaby (at a different time), fare exactly the same as Aer Lingus, zero, taxes and charges 12.49 euros.

Read more: The great 'taxes and charges rip off' by airlines

   

bmibaby quits Manchester Cork route

Tuesday, 16 February 2010 17:15

bmibaby press office confirmed today (16 February 2010) that bmibaby is quitting the Manchester - Cork route AND East Midlands airport  - Cork route. That means no more bmibaby flights to Cork at all.

Bad news in that there will only be one carrier flying Manchester Cork after 11 April 2010 and no more flights from East Midlands airport to Cork after 7 March. Lack of choice is always a bad thing, however when customers exercise their choice, and that's what they have been doing, then the company with poor service gets what it deserves.

The good news is that passengers can no longer be mistreated by ground staff and hassled over the size and weight of their carry-on bags. Neither will passengers be harangued to purchase scratch cards and sky shopping.

In recent months the level of service on the Manchester Cork bmibaby route has deteriorated considerabley. The rot really set in when bmibaby changed their schedules so that the Cork Manchester flight left Cork late in the evening which means that when passengers arrive at Manchester the last train to many destinations has already gone.

This website has published complaints about bmibaby and how difficult they make life when flying, and even more difficult if you want to complain. bmibaby only accepts complaints in writing, posted to its office address. When complaints are received they are usually ignored. When you treat your customers badly they vote with their feet and your business goes down the toilet.

It's sad to see bmibaby quit Cork airport, travel between Ireland and the UK will not be so easy and is likely to increase in cost, but customers have not been served well so bmibaby only has to look to itself for the reason that passengers have gone elsewhere.

 

   

Page 1 of 4


Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 94

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/listento/public_html/templates/racz/html/pagination.php on line 100